New dovetail jig needed, recommendations please. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 09-01-2012, 08:03 PM Thread Starter

View lateralus819's Photo Album My Photos
New dovetail jig needed, recommendations please.

So I'm in desperate need of a new jig, this general tool $40 jig is too inaccurate for my tastes.

Can't afford a leigh (I'm a very amateur diyer here lol)

$100 is fine or a little more,

Another question I'm running a ryobi router the one that comes with the router table at home depot, the R163 router. I know a lot of jigs require "baseplates" Would this particular plate work? http://www.woodcraft.com/product/208...raft-1201.aspx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 09-01-2012, 08:26 PM
John

View jschaben's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by lateralus819 View Post
So I'm in desperate need of a new jig, this general tool $40 jig is too inaccurate for my tastes.

Can't afford a leigh (I'm a very amateur diyer here lol)

$100 is fine or a little more,

Another question I'm running a ryobi router the one that comes with the router table at home depot, the R163 router. I know a lot of jigs require "baseplates" Would this particular plate work? http://www.woodcraft.com/product/208...raft-1201.aspx

That baseplate is a good one. I've used it on everything from Craftsman to Freud's to Hitachi and Triton. I do believe I remember one guy with a Ryobi that could only get two holes to match up but that wouldn't matter, two screws is enough. You could always drill out a 3rd hole. The important thing is to make sure you keep enough latitude to get it centered.
Here's a dovetail jig, Not an upscale but does a passable job for me.
http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=17367
This is the last day of their 20% off sale so if you can sneak the order in today it'll come in about $120. If not, they put it on sale regularly for $119, sometimes including the dust collection.