Need some Advice of some of you professional's if you have the time please. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 07-11-2012, 11:36 AM Thread Starter
Newbie Woodworker

View mike.smith.27's Photo Album My Photos
Unhappy Need some Advice of some of you professional's if you have the time please.

Hello there I'm mike.smith.27 and i'm new to wood working i had a talent for it in school and now i'm 22 and i'm wanting to get a career started as a stream of dead end jobs had me hating my job. This i love and need to aquire some lost skills.

These are some of the issue's i'm having at the moment i'm hoping someone could help me with.
  • Getting a wood cut straight.
  • Getting an even Plane surface
  • knowing how to sharpen Chisels and Plane blades
  • any useful jigs i could make to help me do these said jobs

The only tools i own at the minute are an old hand plane my grandfather gave me, a Tenon saw, a power drill, wood vice and 3 chisels. is there anything i can do do get a straight edge as i can't make any projects a reality until I've at the very least mastered this skill. any help would be greatly appreciated.

mike.smith.27

Last edited by mike.smith.27; 07-11-2012 at 11:41 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 07-11-2012, 11:46 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
search here for "build" threads

They usually show step by step the process used to make a project.
You Tube is your best source of "How to Videos" some sites are better than others. Our member thintz has a good site. There are hundreds, maybe thousands of videos.
http://www.youtube.com/user/thintz12...e=results_main

To make a straight cut and then a square edge on a board just requires, some practice, a decent handsaw, a plane in sharp condition, an accurate line and a reference straight edge like a 4 ft long aluminum bubble level. A carpenters square 6" or sliding T bevel square is needed to check for a square edge.