Need help to join legs to large "stool" - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 08-24-2014, 10:29 AM Thread Starter

View David45's Photo Album My Photos
Need help to join legs to large "stool"

Hello woodworking gurus. I am a beginner looking to build what is basically a large stool. The top is 6" thick by about 16" diameter. Legs are 21" long and about 3" diameter. All the wood is fresh cut. Oak or hardwood.

My problem is I would like to have removable legs and thought hanger bolts and threaded inserts would do the trick. However, upon testing my first stool, the inserts did not hold the hanger bolt and the legs became wobbly. (attached are pics)

My ideas are:
1. use threaded inserts for soft wood with more aggressive thread to hold better.
2. use a super long hanger bolt (7") and go all the way through the seat and countersink bolt in top (might be hard to find a hanger bolt that long and would not look as nice)

Any other ideas????? Your help is greatly appreciated!

-DAVE

[ATTACH]Name:  stool2.jpg
Views: 214
Size:  51.5 KB[/ATTACH]
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 08-24-2014, 11:35 AM

View Alchymist's Photo Album My Photos
With a top 6" thick, make your legs 3" longer and then counterbore 3" deep holes in the top. Put your inserts at the bottom of the counterbore.

Will take some fairly precision work, but the fit up will be quite strong. Even better if you could manage a very slight taper to legs and counterbore.

Alexis de Tocqueville was a very smart man.
post #3 of 8 Old 08-24-2014, 12:37 PM
Village Idiot

View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos