Need help with a bolt/threaded insert type connection - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 04-24-2013, 04:26 PM Thread Starter

View porculator's Photo Album My Photos
Need help with a bolt/threaded insert type connection

I'm an architect with basic carpentry experience, and I need to come up with a removable stair railing connection. The railing will be in place 99% of the time but will need to be removed for moving furniture up and down the stairs. I would like to use a bolted connection, connecting a plate attached to the balusters with a sloped top plate of the wall. But since the underside of the connection will be concealed, I need some type of fixed threaded insert. I would prefer that the insert be set into underside of the bottom plate rather than the top side, to avoid any chance of the bolt ripping the insert out with it if too much force is put on it. Basically I just want something that will act as a nut and washer normally would in a typical connection.

I've attached a sketch showing the basic layout. The red line is where the two pieces will separate.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20130424152943002.jpg
Views:	293
Size:	89.6 KB
ID:	69097  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 04-24-2013, 05:23 PM
John

View jschaben's Photo Album My Photos
something like this?
http://www.mcmaster.com/#tee-nut-inserts/=mgqwza

John

If I strive for perfection, I can generally achieve good'nuff, If I strive for good'nuff, I generally achieve firewood
post #3 of 19 Old 04-24-2013, 06:24 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by jschaben View Post
Yes, exactly. Now my question is, how would the threads work with the bolt? I think those are meant to be driven from the same side as the bolt. So what happens when the bolt and the insert are driven from opposite ends?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 19 Old 04-24-2013, 06:46 PM
Old School