Mortise and Tenon Question from Beginner - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 11-27-2013, 08:41 AM Thread Starter

View Christopher Donovan's Photo Album My Photos
Mortise and Tenon Question from Beginner

I'm a newer woodworker looking to do mortise and tenon for a coffee table.

Don't have M&T specific equipment but do have: table saw, plunge/base router, power drill.

All I'm looking to do is make rectangular/square mortises and tenons in red oak.

The lady at Rockler pointed me to a $159 thing that makes rounded tenons and mortises, which had abysmal reviews. Lowe's apparently has none of this kind of stuff, which surprised me a little.

My budget is limited.

Any suggestions on what to buy?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 11-27-2013, 08:48 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

You could do mortises with Forstner bits and chisels, or just chisels if need be. Tenons can be done by handsaws, chisels, table saws band saws, or on a router table.

post #3 of 12 Old 11-27-2013, 08:53 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
use your router!

Replace the base with one of these OR modify yours:
http://www.rockler.com/mortise-centering-router-base

It's just 2 pins equal distance from the center hole. You twist the router so the pins contact the sides of the piece and center the bit. Plunge down to the depth you want and control your mortise lengths with stops or marks. Then chisel out the corners with a heavy chisel or one of these:
http://www.rockler.com/search/go?w=c...uuid=&sli_sid=

You can use a fence on your router, BUT it requires measuring to get the mortise centered, a bit more work. By flipping the router around you will get a mortises that is centered:

That will get you going!

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)