Mortise/Tenon dimensions? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 08-23-2016, 01:09 PM Thread Starter

View Tebluth's Photo Album My Photos
Mortise/Tenon dimensions?

Hi, I'm relatively new to woodworking. I'm planning to build a "farmhouse" style dining table 72"x 40" or so. Table top will be roughly 2x8 or 2x10 knotty alder (wife wants a thick tabletop). She also wants breadboards on either end. I was planning on 5" wide breadboards on either end (suggestions for different widths welcome).

I was planning to make my breadboard M&Ts using a plunge router and dado blade. My question is, given the thickness of the tabletop and width of the breadboard, what should the dimensions for my tenons be? Was thinking 2" long, 5" wide, and 1" thick based on what I've read. Suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 08-23-2016, 03:43 PM

View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
Your dimensions are fine. I would space at least 4 M/T's at each end.
Cutting a 2" dado might be a trick unless you have a large dado blade.

If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when will you have time to do it over?
post #3 of 10 Old 08-23-2016, 04:06 PM Thread Starter

Thanks. I figured I'd just make a few passes with a dado on each side and smooth it out?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 08-24-2016, 02:31 PM Thread Starter

On another note (since I'm routing my mortises) do they need to be squared off with a chisel? Is there another way? Do they need to be squared off?
post #5 of 10 Old 08-24-2016, 06:31 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tebluth View Post
On another note (since I'm routing my mortises) do they need to be squared off with a chisel? Is there another way? Do they need to be squared off?
No. You can round over the corners of tenons to easily fit the round of the routed mortise.

If you don't have time to do it right the first time, when will you have time to do it over?
post #6 of 10 Old 08-25-2016, 03:22 AM