Mortise in Slab Legs - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 7Likes

post #1 of 29 Old 06-06-2017, 10:12 AM Thread Starter

View MarkWilliams's Photo Album My Photos
Mortise in Slab Legs

Hello, I am building a coffee table with slab legs. I am putting a beam between the legs, just under the table top for support and am looking to purchase a drill press to drill the mortises. I'm just starting out and am not at the point where I am comfortable doing mortises by hand.

Since the mortise will extend upwards of 8 inches down, will my the average drill press table be deep enough to drill the entire mortise? It will look something like the picture below. I would just feel goofy, getting a drill press and finding it can only do 3/4 of the mortise or something silly.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 Old 06-06-2017, 12:38 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
drill presses come in sizes ...12", ...15"...20"

That means :
http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f12/h...easured-14892/

So, your new drill press would need to be quite large, and not worth it at this point. You could drill into the exact corners of the slab at the outer dimensions of your tenon using a 3/16" dia or 1/4" dia, 4" long bit to penetrate all the way through. Then connect the outside corners and using a 1" or larger Forsnter bit in a hand drill,"hog" away the material inside the lines, from either side. It will take some time, but you can do this! Then clean up all the surfaces with a very sharp chisel.

Kinda like this:

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
post #3 of 29 Old 06-06-2017, 06:37 PM

View Rebelwork's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkWilliams View Post