Mitered Joint Spline Help - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 12-04-2015, 07:36 AM Thread Starter

View gckless's Photo Album My Photos
Mitered Joint Spline Help

I'm looking to make a jewelry box out of a piece of zebrawood, so I'm looking to miter the corners to keep the stripes smoothly running the outside of the box. I was simply going to cut flat 45* miters, then splines. What are my options for splines?

I was looking at this jig: http://www.rockler.com/rockler-large-box-spline-jig
The appeal of this is using different bits in the router. I think I could also take off that guide and use it on the table saw as well for simple slot splines. But if I use a router, and use an odd bit, for example, a dovetail or circular bit, how would I make the splines for that?

Also, I'm open to other types of joinery that would work here, but I'm pretty new to woodworking and don't have too many tools or skills.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 12-04-2015, 08:36 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
In my opinion that type of spline miter is more for show than functional. If a stronger joint is what you want use this type of spline miter. It can be done on a table saw.
Attached Images

The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
FrankC (12-04-2015)
post #3 of 7 Old 12-04-2015, 12:11 PM

View Toolman50's Photo Album My Photos
A biscuit cutter works well with small boxes like you're making.
The biscuits come in 3 different sizes. The tool can cut at a 45 degree angle for the miters.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 12-04-2015, 12:41 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
notice the grain direction

That is a perfect splined miter. The spline's grain is running 90 degrees to the kerf, or is cross grain. It's more difficult to make splines this way, but they are way stronger than a ripped piece running with the grain.