Miter cuts for pedestal project - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 07-03-2012, 11:56 PM Thread Starter

View eldaneo's Photo Album My Photos
Miter cuts for pedestal project

I am wanting to make a pedestal similar to this one http://www.bausmanandcompany.com/ima...6323-44611.jpg

I am fairly new to woodworking and need help on how to make the miter cuts, and fit them together for the main pedestal part of this design.

My question is, after I make the angled miter cuts, how do I secure the 4 sides together without screws? I want this to look seamless, and didn't want to have any end grain showing.

Any tips are welcomed, thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 07-04-2012, 12:24 AM

View woodbutcher360's Photo Album My Photos
I would use dimentional wood, glue and screw the pieces together. Then cover the outside with veneer. Burnish the edges and add your trim.
post #3 of 14 Old 07-04-2012, 09:14 AM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
It is hard to tell from the picture, but I think the pedestal is just butt jointed. There would be no end grain in the main vertical section of the pedestal with butt joints. The end grain is at the top.

So I am not sure of the question.

If you are new to woodworking and are trying to make a tall pedestal with mitred sides, I think the "new" and the desired method of construction being complicated are not a good mix.

Mitred sides could have grooves cut in the mitres for splines. Adding more complexity.

The assembly should be glued.

The splines would keep things aligned, use belt clamps to hold together while the glue dries.

You do not state what tools you have available. The mitred construction and splines would be best done with a table saw.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 Old 07-04-2012, 11:57 AM
John

View jschaben's Photo Album My Photos