Making a beam bed - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 08-24-2014, 05:01 AM Thread Starter

View Wudbeginner's Photo Album My Photos
Making a beam bed

Hello guys,

Id love to make my own bed, but since I am not a pro yet ;-), I have some questions that I couldnt seem to find answers too. Hope you can help me with it.

My tools so far: Router, handsaw, chisel, smoothing plane, drilling machine

I have added a picture of my Solidworks construction.

1) Will I have to work on the end faces of the beams after I handsawed them? Maybe with a plane or a some kind of sanding?

2) How do I best attach beams 2 onto beams 1? Is it best to just screw them?
(beams 2 are 2x2 inches, beams 1 are 5.5 x 5.5 inches)

3) I also dont have a clou how to attach the 4 feet.

4) How do I keep the beams from drifting into the green directions.

Hope I explained it all understandable and that I am not being too greedy and asking too much :-). Help is greatly appreciated.

Have a nice one,
Daniel
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 08-24-2014, 08:32 AM

View Alchymist's Photo Album My Photos
1) Bevel or round over the ends slightly, sand smooth.

2) Glue & screw.

3) Glue an a couple dowels from the bottom.

4) Use a couple 1X3s side to side about 2 feet from each end. Only bring them about 2/3 the distance across the side beam, glue and screw. If you want them to show less, cut tapered dados for the ends of the 1X3s and bend the 1x3s up into the recess.

Alexis de Tocqueville was a very smart man.
post #3 of 13 Old 08-24-2014, 09:37 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
platform bed OR traditional with slats and box spring

The construction you show will not support either a memory foam mattress, very heavy OR a traditional box spring and mattress combo.

There needs to be more cross pieces or slats for the traditional OR a full size solid plywood support for the memory foam.