Longer bit needed for "Gouging" project - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 12-23-2012, 02:08 PM Thread Starter

View draboo's Photo Album My Photos
Longer bit needed for "Gouging" project

I am extremely new to woodworking in a shop setting.

My old friend (88 y.o.) has a shop with lots of tools and spare wood.

We glued togather 3 1/2" squares of 1 1/2" lumber of two different woods, one being oak and the other being an extremely hard purple wood. It is around 9" long. We are in the process of "gouging out" the center. First we used a dado blade on the table saw and relieved the center so it looks like a trough, with sides that are about 3/8 thick. But none of the dado blades, or any of the router bits Waino has will reach deep enough to leave a 3/8 thick bottom.

Any suggestions or links to a bit that will do the job? Preferably one with a radiused end on it. We are going over to Waino's today, so I ll get a picture of what we have to post, since my explanation leaves a bit to be desired.

Thanks for your help. It is fun being a 60 y.o. apprentice learning from a 88 y.o. carpenter!

And Merry Christmas!

Brad in Sutherlin,OR
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-23-2012, 04:40 PM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
Pictures will really help.

The hard purple wood is likely purpleheart.

Are you trying to make a bowl? I am having a difficult time visualizing without pictures.

If you just need to hog out the centre, do you have a drill press and Forstner bits?
post #3 of 6 Old 12-23-2012, 07:40 PM

View Brian T.'s Photo Album My Photos
If you are making a bowl and if you are trying to work in end grain, you are in for some punishment and my sympathies are in short supply.

I do my best to always start with a Forstner bit, right in the center.
Lots of Forstner holes and knock out the webbing with mallet and gouge (like a 9/15). Use that gouge to clean it up as best I can.