Limitations of hand tools? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 50 Old 01-24-2014, 02:40 PM Thread Starter

View AaBower's Photo Album My Photos
Limitations of hand tools?

This is my first post (other than introduction) and I understand how members can get annoyed with redundant questions that have been asked over and over again. With that being said I apologize ahead of time. I am new to wood working and I am very overwhelmed with where to start even with my searches! I have been looking into "must have" basic hand tools for starting. But my question is, what are the limitation of hand tools as far as projects. As far as a table saw and jointer planer and few other pieces I do have access to. but what types of projects will I be able to construct with basic hand tools? I'm thinking projects such as shelves, coffee table, end tables, or bed-frame for starers. Thank you for any responses and any links to good threads are always great.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 50 Old 01-24-2014, 02:48 PM

View Brian T.'s Photo Album My Photos
I was in the same boat. Once upon a time, it was _all_ done with hand tools. That showed me that it could be done. They weren't called craftsmen for nothing.
My 10" Delta miter saw makes clean cuts at predictable angles (I fail by hand). My drill press gives me holes at predictable angles to the stock (I fail by hand). They save a whole lot of time.
Long cuts with the bandsaw or table saw can be dressed nicely with a #5 Stanley plane, I enjoy that part.
I can make useful things like bookcases but the design is mediocre, the appearance ugly, but for 1,500 volumes, they got the boxes finally emptied!
post #3 of 50 Old 01-24-2014, 03:20 PM
Master firewood maker

View Chris Curl's Photo Album My Photos
is your goal to do it all without power tools because of the philosopy of it, or more because power tools are expensive and noisy?