Joining wedges or 'pie slices' - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 01-25-2012, 11:03 AM Thread Starter

View imhotep531's Photo Album My Photos
Joining wedges or 'pie slices'

I'm endeavoring to cut and join 12 wedges into a circle about 18" in diameter. Here's a CAD rendering:

The wedges will be cut from a board I create by edge joining strips of alder, jatoba and walnut in varying widths. I'll plane the whole board to 0.75" thick and then cut the wedges.

For something like this I want the joints to be as perfect as possible with no visible gaps to ruin the look of the finished piece.

My question is more to do with getting a perfect edge on the sides of each wedge. I've never tried to join wedges into a circle before and I'm a little intimidated. I did a practice run using my sliding compound 10" miter saw and a pine 1x10x8. The resulting wedges have two problems:

1. Angle is off by a fraction of a degree, but that error compounds 12 times so there's a large gap between two wedges when the other edges are pressed tightly together. I think I can get around this by joining two sets of 6 wedges resulting in two half-circles, then running the flat side of each half-circle on my jointer to create two perfectly flat surfaces for joining into the final circle.

2. The sawed edges are rough enough that a lot of sanding would be required to get a near-perfect edge. I find it very difficult to sand evenly which is the only recourse on the test wedges. Should I try a different blade? Currently I'm using a 60T carbide tipped blade that came with the saw. Or should I make a jig for my table saw and also use a different blade?

I'm not looking for a solution that involves zero sanding, I hope I didn't leave that impression, but rather not relying on excessive sanding to get a flat edge. I'm hoping there's a trick to get very close and then sand to touch it up.

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by imhotep531; 01-25-2012 at 11:10 AM.
Sponsored Links