Joining multiple 4x4 pressure treated lumber together - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 20Likes

post #1 of 32 Old 02-24-2019, 12:29 PM Thread Starter

View EggNoggStick's Photo Album My Photos
Red face Joining multiple 4x4 pressure treated lumber together

I am looking for some advice on how to join 5 4x4 pressure treated lumber pieces together. I am looking to create a new mailbox stand for our front yard and while I have a plan in mind I am having trouble figuring out the best way to attach the wood together. I am pretty new to wood working and have only completed a handful of simple projects and I could really use some expert advice as far as this mailbox construction is concerned. I got my inspiration for the project from this picture.

I know enough about wood working that I cannot simply glue the pieces together and hope that despite the weather that everything holds together. Any ideas, suggestions, even critiques on this project would be most helpful. I have attached a rather imperfect diagram of my design. Thank you so much for your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mailbox Plan.jpg
Views:	168
Size:	84.8 KB
ID:	372293  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 Old 02-24-2019, 12:43 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
If the wood has been dried from the factory there isn't any reason you couldn't joint the wood straight and glue it together. Over time there may be considerable pull on the joints from wood movement though. It would be helpful if you would drill through the center of the boards and when you put it together put a couple threaded rods through the wood. Counter sink the ends to where a plug could be glued in the ends to hide the rod. I think the hard part will be lifting the post into the ground when you get it done.
post #3 of 32 Old 02-24-2019, 12:47 PM Thread Starter

View EggNoggStick's Photo Album My Photos
How many thread rods would you recommend? One on top and one on bottom?