joining live edge walnut slab and plywood legs - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 10-15-2014, 12:38 PM Thread Starter

View ANiel's Photo Album My Photos
joining live edge walnut slab and plywood legs

Hi all - First posting here. I've appreciated reading many helpful posts as a guest over the past few weeks.

I'm a beginner currently working on a slab bench to put near the front door of our house. The dimensions of the bench slab after I clean it up will be 1 5/16" x 14" x 57". For the legs I'm planning on sandwiching trapezoidal pieces of birch 3/4" 7 ply. There will be 3 legs and each will have 3-4 pieces of plywood sandwiched together. I'll make cuts for feet and for a cut out in the legs. The legs will be connected by plywood pieces that will serve as a shoe rack as well as some horizontal support.

I'm not sure how to attach the legs to the slab. I'd like to have clean lines, so would rather not attach any additional frame to the slab. I thought that I could use a router to create 1/4 inch niches on the bottom of the slab and glue the legs on. Will this be adequate? How else could I join the base to the slab? I have two designs for the legs, one has the top at 10" and the other at 12". I like the 10" because the trapezoid comes out a bit more, but think the 12" may be more secure. Thanks for your thoughts.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	legs.jpg
Views:	369
Size:	86.4 KB
ID:	100309  

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 10-15-2014, 03:24 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
I would insert the legs into the slab at least 1/2". I would think that would give you enough glue area that is not end grain of the plywood to be sound. I also think the 10" top is good.

How do you plan to cover the edges of the plywood?

George
post #3 of 8 Old 10-15-2014, 04:40 PM Thread Starter