Joining Advice - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 09-21-2018, 03:45 AM Thread Starter

View newmaker's Photo Album My Photos
Joining Advice

People, I am trying to find a way to glue these two pieces of wood together to make a small table.

But as you can see the bottom log is holed from its top (it used to be for small candles).

I am not experienced in wood working and I am hoping not to cut big parts of the log (if possible) since it is not very tall and the wood pattern on top is beautiful.

From more experienced people, any suggestions or advice how I can glue to two pieces together?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	274.8 KB
ID:	366322  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 09-21-2018, 04:49 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
.... glue them together?

What do you mean exactly? Do you want to stack them? OR do you want them side by side?

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
post #3 of 15 Old 09-21-2018, 04:53 AM Thread Starter

stack them, if that means to glue the flat piece on top of the bottom tree log, as in the right picture.

but as you can see, the top of the tree log is holed, so these holes will be covered by the flat piece.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 15 Old 09-21-2018, 05:07 AM
where's my table saw?

still not clear to me

Do you want to glue the "flat piece" on the top of the holes? If so why? You have 3 pieces which can be stacked in 3 different ways .... which way?
A. log piece,
B. flat piece
C. holed piece

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
post #5 of 15 Old 09-21-2018, 05:11 AM Thread Starter