Joining (2) Butcher Blocks - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 11-16-2015, 08:57 PM Thread Starter

View USMCGRUNT's Photo Album My Photos
Joining (2) Butcher Blocks

Hello all,

Let me first say I am a complete beginner in wood working (As you will easily tell from the photos). I am self internet taught and try my best to research and watch videos. Most of the time too much as to which I second guess myself. This was my first attempt at an end grain butcher block.

Anyways, I have a couple questions. I am looking for advice in joining (2) end grain butcher blocks that I had to make each 12 inches wide to fit through my cheapo planer. I have mostly beginner tools.

- Should I just square up one final cut on the table saw and glue them together? I was afraid of the clamping and the pressure going the opposite way (I was going to use straight wood on the ends to distribute the pressure).

- Should I square all edges on the table saw? I built a cross cut sled and rip jig today. Although the rip jig was about three days too late. I wish I would have had a perfect rip on the first cut.

I learned some valuable lessons along the way. I hope to only get better as the time goes on. Any maybe even find a couple classes to take. Thanks for you help!!

* The end grains are facing up if you can't see in the photos
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6866 copy.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	120.8 KB
ID:	196506  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 11-16-2015, 09:55 PM

View hwebb99's Photo Album My Photos
Some say it can be done, but do not run those through the planer.
post #3 of 6 Old 11-17-2015, 05:40 AM Thread Starter

Thanks hwebb99. I wasn't going to even attempt running through the planer.

I may try the Freud Glue line rip and then just glue with minimal pressure. Then cross my fingers and hope for the best.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 Old 11-17-2015, 11:48 AM