Join Flare Speaker Horns - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 2 Post By xittenn
  • 1 Post By _Ogre

post #1 of 17 Old 10-22-2019, 10:08 PM Thread Starter

View xittenn's Photo Album My Photos
Join Flare Speaker Horns

I'm designing some horns. I want to use black walnut if I can find it. I plan to bend rectangular planks, then cut them in the cross section, and join them. I worked as a cabinet maker for five years, but this joint seems almost impossible. Ideas? Other than alternatives?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 10-22-2019, 10:21 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Speaker horn design ......

The shape of the horns I'm familiar with look like this:
https://www.amazon.com/Pyle-Pro-PH39...a-448456630782

Bending is the best way to achieve that shape and is the strongest.
Forms will be required to bend the thin material and heat or steam may be required to prevent splitting. All these techniques are available on You Tube videos. Check them out and post photos of your progress.
John Smith_inFL likes this.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
post #3 of 17 Old 10-22-2019, 10:37 PM Thread Starter

More like the top one, without the extra bits(legs). Flare in x and z in y.
Attached Images

woodnthings and difalkner like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 Old 10-23-2019, 02:57 PM

View _Ogre's Photo Album My Photos
probably won't have any success at bending any solid wood: fresh cut yesterday or dried
you could cut segment curves, glue them up and sand to achieve the desired results

or buy your lumber at home depot, most of the lumber i see there is warped that bad
mjadams61 likes this.
post #5 of 17 Old 10-23-2019, 06:43 PM Thread Starter