Which jig to buy - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 05-23-2015, 04:02 PM Thread Starter

View nick4594's Photo Album My Photos
Which jig to buy

Hi I am new to woodworking. Never built furniture in my life and i want to attempt to tackle building a table and maybe some chairs for my wife. I watched some instructionals on building furniture and was recommended to use a kreg jig. I am wanting to buy one but I want to buy one that i can use and wont have to return for it being the wrong size. The table i am going to build is going to have 2 inch thick pieces of wood and up as well as 1 1/2 inch peices. If I am understanding this correctly I can get away with buying the HD Kreg Jig and HD Screws and a few clamps and also the Mini Single Hole Jig with regular Kreg Screws.
I want to start off as simple as possible. Trying not to dump a whole lot of money into a new hobby quite yet as i have way to many as it is.
But if someone could help me out and let me know if buying those two jigs would be worth it to help me build my table.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 05-23-2015, 04:22 PM

View Icutone2's Photo Album My Photos
Yes very helpful, I nave both for years and they always make the job eraser and faster. They both make a tight joint. The mini is very good for items under 1/2" like picture frames and like.
Lee
post #3 of 13 Old 05-23-2015, 04:47 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Been woodworking for many, many years and have never felt the desire to have anything like a Kreg jig or any other jig to use screws. In fact never found the need to use screws.

George
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 Old 05-23-2015, 04:52 PM Thread Starter

View nick4594's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Been woodworking for many, many years and have never felt the desire to have anything like a Kreg jig or any other jig to use screws. In fact never found the need to use screws.