I need to cut a 7/8" deep rabbet joint - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 17 Old 04-07-2015, 01:25 PM Thread Starter

View WVHick's Photo Album My Photos
I need to cut a 7/8" deep rabbet joint

I am new to woodworking and have recently purchased a Bosch router as one of my first investments. I am building an 18" home theater subwoofer and bought a well known (in home theatre) box kit that I glued up, sealed, sanded, and painted the other night and now I am ready to mount the driver.

I have now decided that I want to flush mount the subwoofer, and the current cutout is a 16.75" diameter hole. In order to flush mount the driver, I need an 18.5" cutout. So I need a bearing guided rabbeting bit that will cut a 7/8" deep rabbet but I can't find any. Any ideas? The max I can find is 3/4".

Thanks for the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 04-07-2015, 01:43 PM

View hwebb99's Photo Album My Photos
I need to cut a 7/8" deep rabbet joint

I don't think a rabbiting bit will work because there will be nothing for the bearing to ride on. I would make a template, and use a pattern bit to enlarge the hole.

Last edited by hwebb99; 04-07-2015 at 01:48 PM.
post #3 of 17 Old 04-07-2015, 01:51 PM Thread Starter

The rabbeting bit could ride on the face of the existing hole, right? This is how my box sits right now. I just want to cut a 7/8" rabbet about 3/8" deep around that hole.

So that I end up with this:

Last edited by WVHick; 04-07-2015 at 01:53 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 17 Old 04-07-2015, 01:56 PM

View hwebb99's Photo Album My Photos
Yes that would work. I thought you were trying to cut all the way through.
post #5 of 17 Old 04-07-2015, 02:22 PM
Sawdust Creator

View ryan50hrl's Photo Album My Photos
I've never seen a 7/8 bit....and a quick search didn't turn up any results. You might be sol on a bit that large.

The tools don't make the craftsman....
post #6 of 17 Old 04-07-2015, 02:22 PM Thread Starter

Quote: