I cant make a miter fit to save my life - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 23 Old 01-24-2013, 03:57 PM Thread Starter
afx

View afx's Photo Album My Photos
Red face I cant make a miter fit to save my life

Pardon the long windedness I'm going to try an put my skills into perspective.

I've been wood working for about 5 years and I think I've gotten pretty efficient around my shop, I am by no means a professional and I lack some of the intuitiveness that you see the really advance workers have, my wife says its my creative mind clouding my logical one.

I'm about to start a really large project that will require ripping long lengths of plywood at a 45 to create an inner box.

My only problem is I cant seem to ever cut miters that fit properly! I have absolutely OBSESSED about this on prior projects. I've spent entire days tuning my table saw, miter saw and radial arm to cut better miters but they never seem to be as tight as they should. It almost always comes down to me finding another form of joinery or some kind of workaround to get it done. So far the radial arm is the closest fit for me but it still seems to be a degree or so off when you try to make a small box.

My question(s) is(are), what is your process to ensure you have tight miters? Do you use a table sled? A digital angle gauge? When you measure the angle, do you measure from the tooth or from the body of the blade?

I'm open to all suggestions and/or criticism's.

These are the tools I've been using just in case that has anything to do with it.

Table saw is a Rigid TS2424 with a Diablo 60 tooth fine blade

Miter saw is a Delta Shopmaster something or other, I cant remember the model #

Radial arm saw is an old craftsman I restored which oddly enough gets me the closest
http://vintagemachinery.org/photoind....aspx?id=12551

Thanks a ton!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 01-24-2013, 04:31 PM
Master firewood maker

View Chris Curl's Photo Album My Photos