How tight is too tight? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 06-02-2011, 08:01 AM Thread Starter

View bblock's Photo Album My Photos
How tight is too tight?

I'm new to woodworking and I've been practicing some various joinery techniques in my free time. I'm wondering how snug the pieces should fit together. I realize you don't want it so tight that you have to force it and risk shearing off a piece of material but should the pieces be loose enough to slide in and out easily? Or should they hold together even when unsupported? This is, of course, before gluing. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 06-02-2011, 08:11 AM
Prolific maker of Sawdust

View Jordan's Photo Album My Photos
I think your word snug describes it. As you probably know, wood expands and contracts with the environment, some room for glue is usually needed, dowels and glue have been known to split the wood from too much pressure, tolerances not as critical or close as metal machining. If the joint line looks good and there is no looseness in the finished piece I think your good to go.

Easy wind blowin cross the bayou today, I'm a stone jack baller and my heart is true.
post #3 of 8 Old 06-02-2011, 08:11 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

Fitted and mating parts should fit with a slight friction. Clamping pressure in time becomes learned. But, a small amount of squeezeout (I call spooging), means the parts that touch are dispersing glue. If the parts fit well, and there is a light coating of all surfaces, not much will squeeze out. Here is a thread that may add some info:

http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f5/ca...lue-out-25283/

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 06-02-2011, 09:01 AM
Really underground garage

View BWSmith's Photo Album My Photos
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gauge_block