How to glue up 1/8" mahogany boards for a bar top? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 20 Old 12-03-2011, 12:50 PM Thread Starter

View gkustas's Photo Album My Photos
How to glue up 1/8" mahogany boards for a bar top?

I am making a bar top for a back bar cabinet. It is going to be 20" deep x 64" long. I plan on doing the following: (2) 3/4" cabinet grade plywood substrate, with 1/8" x 5" mahogany boards glued to the top, and 3/4" x 1 1/2" mahogany boards on the edges.

I've never done this before, and I'm not sure the bast way to glue the 1/8" boards to the substrate, and to each other.

Should I edge glue them together first, and then glue them to the substrate, or just glue them to the substrate and press? If I edge glue them, do I do the full width at once, or do one row at a time?

I plan on using Gorilla carpenters glue. I also plan on using a polyurethane finish.

I guess that's it. Any thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 12-03-2011, 01:57 PM
Rick

View DIY@home's Photo Album My Photos
I sure there will be a bunch of replies from folks with a lot more experience than me, but gluing the mahogany boards to plywood is likely to cause you grief.

The plywood won't shrink or expand much at all, but the mahogany will be prone to humidity changes - which could cause the 1/8" mahogany to split or buckle. I know this can happen with thicker stock.

Cheers, Rick

"Experience is what you usually get when you were expecting something else"
post #3 of 20 Old 12-03-2011, 03:00 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by gkustas View Post
I am making a bar top for a back bar cabinet. It is going to be 20" deep x 64" long. I plan on doing the following: (2) 3/4" cabinet grade plywood substrate, with 1/8" x 5" mahogany boards glued to the top, and 3/4" x 1 1/2" mahogany boards on the edges.