Help with solid wood case joinery - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 05-01-2017, 04:48 PM Thread Starter
Jeff G

View buktotruth's Photo Album My Photos
Help with solid wood case joinery

Hi everyone,

I'm about to build something like this (http://global.rakuten.com/en/store/j...ommon-120l-na/) per the wife's request. I'd typically do this with veneered plywood, but I have a lot of solid cherry in my shop that I'd like to use. My question to you all is this: can I do that and sufficiently account for wood movement? My concerns are the top being a single slab as well as what types of joints to use for the vertical parts joining the horizontal parts (if it were framed joinery, I would just do M&T with floating panels, but with solid pieces, I'm not quite sure what to do).

Thanks for the help!

-Jeff G
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 05-01-2017, 07:37 PM

View plasma800's Photo Album My Photos
I'm no expert, but I'd be considering pocket screws in the sides and center divider top and bottom. These plus glue should make a nice, strong butt joint.

I might even consider a shallow dado for the center divider top and bottom.

Nice looking unit by the way.
post #3 of 6 Old 05-01-2017, 07:50 PM Thread Starter
Jeff G

View buktotruth's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasma800 View Post
I'm no expert, but I'd be considering pocket screws in the sides and center divider top and bottom. These plus glue should make a nice, strong butt joint.

I might even consider a shallow dado for the center divider top and bottom.

Nice looking unit by the way.