HELP PLEASE on dowel joint - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 02-15-2012, 03:12 PM Thread Starter

View brianj1956's Photo Album My Photos
HELP PLEASE on dowel joint

Hey guys,
I am a novice woodworker and need some help on a dowel joint. I am making cabinet doors and can't seem to make a dowel joint.
I have the cabinet door frame alread glued up but have not installed the panel , it is a shaker style door. I am trying to reinforce the glued butt joints with 2- 1/4 inch dowels in each joint. I am using an older Craftsman dowel jig. I am haing no problem using the jig but when I go to tap in the dowel it is very very tight and when the dowel gets to the joint of the 2 pieces of wood it does not want to go further. I have tried a regular twist bit drill and a spade bit drill and there is no difference...same problem. Do you use a slightly larger bit then the 1/4 inch bit(same as the dowel) Am I doing something wrong? I am mounting the jig to the edge of the frame going through the 2 inch frame and trying to get through the butt joint. No problem going through the 2 inch face frame but the dowel is stopping at the butt joint??? I am haing to beat the dowel so hard it is crushing the end?? Any and all help is appreciated

Thanks in advance

Respectfully
Brian
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 02-15-2012, 03:30 PM
John

View jschaben's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianj1956 View Post
Hey guys,
I am a novice woodworker and need some help on a dowel joint. I am making cabinet doors and can't seem to make a dowel joint.