Help with joiner - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 06-15-2009, 08:32 PM Thread Starter

View gleward's Photo Album My Photos
Help with joiner

Hello,

Im new here and Im fairly new to using a joiner. Most of you probably know where Im going.
I need help with using a joiner properly. I continue to joint one edge so my next step is the table saw and the edge Im joining is get more and more of a bow.
At first, I place most of my pressure above the blade until I get enaough surface sitting on the outfeed table. Then all pressure is on the outfeed table. It continues to generate a bow.
Could the table be set up wrong?
What am I doing wrong?
Glenn
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 06-15-2009, 10:15 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Musta been a used joinTer with no instructions HEY?

The basics are Flatten one side first, that's not what you've been doing, right? Look down the board first, to see if it's concave or convex. To flatten take off the convex ends by just running them over the cutter repeatedly until they start to disappear. You must flip the board end for end to accomplish this. When it starts to look relatively flat, now you are ready to start pressing down on the outfeed table with pressure while you are pushing it over the cutterhead. Once one side is flat you should joinT one edge. You may have to use the same "little at a time" process to remove bow or cup depending. Now you can SAFELY use the tablesaw to rip the opposite edge parallel to the jointed edge. The board must be flat on one one side before using the tablesaw or you will get a KICKBACK when it rocks and binds on the blade. Use your splitter on the tablesaw to keep the wood from pinching back on itself and the back of the blade, another source of KICKBACK. That should get you started. bill