Help attaching table apron and legs - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 12-30-2012, 10:28 AM Thread Starter
No Longer Here

View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
Help attaching table apron and legs

Ok guys I got a message from hays0369 asking for help and I figured you guys may have better memory of links to help him. I also figured some of you might explain it better as well as give a few different option. I'm no expert so I figured the best way to help was to give it to you guys. His question is below.

I have recently come into a good amount of highly figured African Mahogany. I want to build a entry table for my home as well as a end table that will go inbetween two sitting chairs. I have looked around on this sight to try and figure out how to secure the legs to the top of the table and the apron(?). I can't seem to find it. Do you know of any link on this website that could help me with this. My tools include a table saw, combination router, 10" mitre saw verious hand sanders and a few clamps of various sizes. My wife has also said that since I am building stuff for the house, if there is a tool I need I can buy it! I also have access to a full wood shop with just about everything you cold think of if I need it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 12-30-2012, 10:51 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
I've posted this previously...
A simple way to install the top would be to edge glue and clamp the pieces to make up the top. Add cleats to the aprons on all four sides. Those are nothing more than a strip of wood approximately 1" to 1" glued on edge, so the top of the cleat is flush with the top of the apron.
On the ends (long grain), screw the center down from underneath. For the sides, elongate the holes in the cleat, and use a pan head screw with a washer. These can be snug, but not tight.