Hand-cut Dadoes - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 16 Old 09-19-2008, 01:46 PM Thread Starter

View flash512's Photo Album My Photos
Hand-cut Dadoes

Hi,

I'm trying to build a little three shelf spice rack for my wife out of some scrap 1x4 pine that I have in the garage. Real simple design: two uprights, three shelves and some 1/4" birch ply for the back.

Since I'm new to this, I thought I would try to cut some dadoes for the shelves to sit in. The problem is, they look horrible. I'm using a back saw and chisels to cut the joints. I'm having trouble getting the dadoes the right size. They are either sloppy or too tight and my saw cuts are not perpendicular to the board.

Any advice on making dadoes (outside of buying a table saw or router) would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 09-19-2008, 02:10 PM

View Roy Harding's Photo Album My Photos
Try clamping a piece of (square) scrap beside your cut line. Use this as a fence to keep your saw perpendicular to the work piece.

Be VERY careful when using a (VERY SHARP) chisel on the ends of the dado - work from the outside in, not from the inside out - and you'll reduce the chance of "blow out". Don't try to hog the whole depth of the dado out with your chisel - work down in little bites.

When you get to the bottom of the dado, turn your chisel over - so that the back of it is up (bevel down position), this lets you take material off without gouging it.

Take your time. Cutting perpendicular and chisel technique will come naturally with time and practise.

I think it's great that you're making something for your wife - it's a good way to get "points", and permission to acquire more tools.
post #3 of 16 Old 09-19-2008, 08:31 PM
Pianoman

View pianoman's Photo Album My Photos