glueing geometric 1x3 pine/oak boards onto plywood surface for table - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 08-16-2016, 12:46 PM Thread Starter

View _thinkaboutit's Photo Album My Photos
Question glueing geometric 1x3 pine/oak boards onto plywood surface for table

I have cut various geometric shapes using 1x3 pine and oak boards - some small traiangles (~4 inches) and some larger (~9 inches). I am glueing them onto a piece of 1 inch plywood to form the top of a coffee table (see photo - once they are glued in place the ends will be cut off in a straight line and a border attached.)

I have never used wood glue before.

Is clamping going to be necessary or is simply placing and applying pressure going to be enough to keep them in place? My main concern will be to keep all the edges close and achieve as smooth a surface as possible. There will be no real stress on the pieces once they are in place, the glue is simply to keep them from falling out. Thanks for any help.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 08-16-2016, 01:33 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
It looks nice but you will need some kind of a sturdy frame to keep if flat. The solid wood will draw up as the glue cures and make the top bow. Clamping the individual pieces together won't be necessary. After an hour or so when the glue sets up enough the pieces won't move you might put it face down on a clean sheet of plywood or masonite in your driveway and park your car tire in the middle of it. The longer it would sit under pressure the better. If you would use a resin glue the panel would cure overnight. Regular wood glue might take a week to cure.
post #3 of 8 Old 08-16-2016, 01:53 PM

View TimPa's Photo Album My Photos
clamping is much better than no clamping.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 08-16-2016, 02:16 PM Thread Starter

View _thinkaboutit's Photo Album My Photos