Glue alone, or add fasteners? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 02-09-2015, 08:24 AM Thread Starter

View Ron_J's Photo Album My Photos
Glue alone, or add fasteners?

I just finished a project that for the first time, the only fasteners I used were the screws to attach the hinges. I am still new to this, but I have to say, I'm a little sceptical on how well the glue will hold up over time.

Do mosy of you rely on glue (and cut joints) alone, or do you add nails, or screws to your joints?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 02-09-2015, 08:29 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
It would vary from project to project whether or not I use fasteners. For the most part I use fasteners to speed up the assembly. For example a cabinet door could be made just fine just gluing and clamping it but if you have 50 doors to make it makes more sense to shoot a few brads in the joints so you can take the door out of the clamps and move on to the next one.
post #3 of 12 Old 02-09-2015, 04:03 PM
Village Idiot

View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos
Depends what I'm building. For a long grain to long grain join, the glue is stronger than the wood itself, so if I'm gluing up a slab for a table top theres no need to reinforce it. Attaching legs to the same table requires a bit more support than glue Alon. Personally, I prefer going with stronger joinery methods, e.g reinforcing the joint with dowels or something similar, rather than metal hardware like screws, but screws can work just as well.

I don't really consider brad nails in the same category as something like a screen or a finishing nail. They don't add a huge amount of reinforcement to a joint. I see them more as permanent clamps to hold two pieces together while the glue dries. I love my nailer, I use it all the time for making jigs, applying trim and in situations where clamping would be difficult, but again, its just a way to keep whatever in place while the glue dries