5Likes
  • 1 Post By Terry Q
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 3 Post By 35015

post #1 of 11 Old 01-14-2019, 11:58 AM Thread Starter

View Evan Michael's Photo Album My Photos
Question Framing out a tabletop?

Hello all,

I am new to the forum and am not even sure this is the correct section, sorry if it isnt. I am relatively new to woodworking, I mostly build things for friends and family. A coworker asked me to build the table in the link below, however today at work he asked about changing the measurements for the tabletop. He asked if I could "frame it" or do some sort of a "border. His wife does not really like breadboard ends and they are looking to add 2x2 border around the whole top with 45 degree mitered corners.

Is this a common thing? What is the correct way to join this and should biscuits be used?

We are in florida so it is humid, if that makes a difference. Should I try to sell him on just changing the OAL to 88" and then adding a 2x6 in the middle thats ripped to 4" wide?

https://handmade-haven.com/blogs/woo...e-dining-table

Thanks all for the input
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 01-14-2019, 01:07 PM

View John Smith_inFL's Photo Album My Photos
where will this table live after it is made ??
(outside picnic area, patio, inside in the dining room, etc.)

I am assuming you will be using lumber from the Big Box Store ??
do you have a thickness planer and jointer ??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Farm Table.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	149.2 KB
ID:	370519  

there is no educational alternative to having a front row seat in the School of Hard Knocks.

Last edited by John Smith_inFL; 01-14-2019 at 01:13 PM.
post #3 of 11 Old 01-14-2019, 01:59 PM Thread Starter

Hi John,