4Likes
  • 1 Post By nick_m
  • 1 Post By Jim Frye
  • 1 Post By GeorgeC
  • 1 Post By nick_m

post #1 of 13 Old 04-13-2017, 04:35 PM Thread Starter

View nick_m's Photo Album My Photos
Forgot to glue a joint

I'm a woodworking newbie completing my first project with mortise and tenon joinery and I somehow managed to forget to glue one of the joints. Yeah, you read that correctly.

The rails join to the legs using mitered tenons, which I planned to reinforce with dowels for strength and aesthetics. Is it worth trying to sneak glue into the joint, or can I simply rely on the dowels? The piece is an end table, so it shouldn't see much stress. The tenons are 3/8" thick, 1-5/8" wide and 1" long, and the material is white oak. I plan to use 1/4" oak dowels; should I use one or two? Thanks in advance for the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 04-13-2017, 05:08 PM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Does the piece seem solid to the touch? That is, if you attempt to shake it, does it feel sound?

Is there any visual impairment to the joint. That is, does it look OK?

If you answer these yes, then leave it alone.

George
post #3 of 13 Old 04-13-2017, 05:19 PM Thread Starter

George,

The joint is loose; I can pull the rail from the leg about 1/32", but it sits flush when clamped. The other 7 joints are rock solid, so I can tell it's not a case of glue failure.
Steve D likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 Old 04-13-2017, 06:35 PM
The Nut in the Cellar

View Jim Frye's Photo Album My Photos
If this were my situation, I'd pull the joint as far apart as possible with the opening arranged so the glue will flow downwards by gravity and bleed in some CA glue on the inside of the apron. Quickly push the joint together and clamp. When set, I'd pin the joint on the inside with 1/8" bamboo pins. Shave the pins flush with a chisel. When finished, it should hold and only you will know of your boo boo.