First time biscuit jointing - advice please - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 26 Old 06-11-2014, 12:51 PM Thread Starter
labougie

View labougie's Photo Album My Photos
First time biscuit jointing - advice please

I've made a couple of acoustic guitars as well as some pub benches so I'm not a complete newbie, but I've never used a biscuit jointer. I have 5 iroko boards, 1000 x 100 x 30mm and I want to make a larger board of 1000 x 500 x 30mm so I can then cut a shaped thwart (boat seat). Hardwood biscuit jointing with epoxy edge gluing (and lots of sash cramps + weights!) would seem like the answer, but given my dimensions, can I get some guidance on what size biscuits, what spacing and a single or double layer of biscuits? Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 06-11-2014, 01:22 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

We have an introduction section where you can say a few words about yourself. If you fill out your profile in your "User Control Panel", you can list any hobbies, experience, occupation, or if retired…from what, or other facts. You can also list your general geographical location which would be a help in answering some questions. In doing that your location will show under your username when you post.

I wouldn't use biscuits at all. Edge joint the boards so they are square and flat to the faces. Use Titebond III and just clamp together. Use cauls on top/bottom across the boards, clamped to keep all the boards flat.

post #3 of 26 Old 06-11-2014, 02:38 PM Thread Starter
labougie