Woodworking Talk banner

Extreme Beginner Shelving Question

2K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  PhilBa 
#1 ·
I think what I'm asking is a form of joining, if not feel free to redirect me appropriately. I am an absolute novice when it comes to woodworking, this is my first real project and I am excited to learn more!

I am trying to replicate this:

I have all the pieces I need cut and I am attempting to put the shelves in first and work my way out. As it stands I have wood-glued the ends and clamped them into the two vertical framing pieces, however, they do not seem to be holding, I waited 24 hours and when I release the clamps they just fall apart. Should I be using screws/nails in addition to the glue?

Of note, I stained the wood first, I think that may have been out of order.

Thank you all in advance for helping me out with this, I'm hoping to become more knowledgeable, but don't have a whole lot of resources beyond the internet!

See less See more
#2 ·
So the ends of the shelf are called end grain. It's exposed when you cut across a board. End grain glues poorly and has very little strength. Something that helped me get into woodworking was using a kreg jig. It was a great way to get started and make something.

#7 ·
I'll add it up for you MammothMan - glue doesn't perform very well on end grain and yes - it doesn't work on pre-stained wood. So you have 2 things here. Nails are an option and you might experiment with brand name LocTite pl glue. That glue may hold your project together. I used it on prestained wood and it's still holding.

If your're going to take up woodworking, let me suggest you get a table saw and learn dado joinery. It is an easy basic joint and it can be achieved with a router as well. Welcome to the world of woodworking.

#9 ·
This project looks like it was nailed together. You can always use screws in place of nails.