Edge jointing & gaps - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 09-12-2016, 10:40 AM Thread Starter

View Cynical Roland's Photo Album My Photos
Edge jointing & gaps

Hello,

Im new to this whole woodworking thing. Got my first table saw and been practicing to saw straight boards so I could glue them together. Aint that easy :)
So I got few board with gaps. My question would be: Can you work with boards with small gaps (I attached photo of board with gap) or should it be a perfectly match and I should straighten them?
*My post looks a bit messy...
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 09-12-2016, 09:01 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Personally I don't believe in gluing together sawn wood. The edges should be machined on a jointer prior to being glued together. The joint depends on the wood being tightly together and the coarseness of the saw cut prevents this. If you are going to do this you need to eliminate the gaps between the boards. Otherwise a lot of pressure would be needed to force the wood together. How ever much pressure needed to force the wood together is how much stress the wood will be putting on it to pull the joint apart. The best way to make a glue joint on a table saw is to make a sled to keep the wood straight against the fence. It also helps to use a really sharp blade. Any deflection of the blade when ripping the parts will cause the joint not to be straight.
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
Cynical Roland (09-13-2016)
post #3 of 5 Old 09-13-2016, 12:21 AM

View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
Rather than going through it all again, maybe read through here first:
http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f5/st...inting-145938/

Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something -Plato

FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
http://woodworkerglossary.com
The Following User Says Thank You to FrankC For This Useful Post: