Easiest ways to make a mortise and tenon joint - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 04-23-2015, 10:40 AM Thread Starter

View mfurey14's Photo Album My Photos
Easiest ways to make a mortise and tenon joint

So I'm new to making mortise and tenon joints and recently attempted my first one. I'm doing these for breadboard ends on table tops with 1 1/2" thick doug fir. I used my fixed base router with a 3/4" x 1/2" deep straight cut bit for the tenon and a 1/2" x 2 1/2" straight cut bit for the mortise by doing multiple passes. Like I said, it worked, but it wasn't pretty. I used a straight edge clamp to guide the router on the table top which was about 36" wide for the tenon and then made a basic DIY router table by just mounting it upside down on a piece of plywood and using my saw horses to do the mortise (raising the bit higher in small increments). My question is...are there any jigs/tools out there that you would recommend to make this process much easier that also won't cost a million dollars to purchase? I would like to keep the joint hidden, however I'm not opposed to it being visible on the sides.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-24-2015, 10:13 PM

View billyfontaine's Photo Album My Photos
I used to use a router for mortises. Now I have a mortiser. But what I did was make my own jigs. I'd draw the mortise out on a thin piece of plywood and add 3/8 to the whole outline. And cut it out with a scrollsaw or jigsaw. I'd install a 3/8" bushing on the router and run it inside the hole I cut in the plywood. Easy peasy. The only difficult part was finding a way to clamp the plywood to my work piece. Now, what I'd do there is typically tack a piece of wood to the bottom of my jig that would allow it to be clamped to the work piece just where I wanted it. Then I'd just square off the corners with a chisel. I cut my tenons on a table saw. Do you have a table saw?
post #3 of 9 Old 04-24-2015, 11:42 PM