Drawers out of square help! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 10-24-2013, 11:59 AM Thread Starter

View Hockeynut's Photo Album My Photos
Drawers out of square help!

First of all I am new to woodworking, I have attempted to build a few drawers for our kitchen. Using a locking rabbit joint, when I installed them one side stuck out past the cabinet about a 1/8"" in. I am using accuride ball bearing slides. Help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 10-24-2013, 12:19 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockeynut View Post
First of all I am new to woodworking, I have attempted to build a few drawers for our kitchen. Using a locking rabbit joint, when I installed them one side stuck out past the cabinet about a 1/8"" in. I am using accuride ball bearing slides. Help!
One side is likely longer than the other, or the slides may not be installed correctly. Can you post a picture?

post #3 of 11 Old 10-24-2013, 12:26 PM

View TimPa's Photo Album My Photos
when building any box, take the time to take diagonal measurements to adjust your square before the glue sets. i find it more reliable than setting a square on the corner. you may find you drawer is square and the cabinet is not. btdt. you may get some correction with slide mounting locations, if you have any lateral adjustment at the back of the slides inside the cabinet
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 10-24-2013, 12:28 PM Thread Starter

I can do that. Using a small square I can tell that it is not perfectly square. Maybe a 1/16 " of a inch. I was thinking that the box might have racked a bit when I assembled and glued it up.
post #5 of 11 Old 10-24-2013, 01:27 PM Thread Starter

I did run a tape diagonally it was off about a sixteenth of a inch from one side to the other...
post #6 of 11 Old 10-24-2013, 02:00 PM

View Fred Hargis's Photo Album My Photos