Dowel pins & Biscuit joints - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 11-25-2007, 07:28 PM Thread Starter

View bigjoedo's Photo Album My Photos
Dowel pins & Biscuit joints

Hey Gang,

I have been working on a oak nightstand for a Christmas present. So far, screwing up 6 legs and cutting & gluing 6 new ones. I am a newbie and just can't get the mortise and tenon joints right.
I had a few questions:

Can I use biscuit joints to fasten 3/4 inch oak veneer plywood to 1 1/2 inch solid oak stock ? (in place of the M&T joints?) These are the rear & side panels.

Can I use doweling to replace M&T joints to fasten 3/4 inch square stock to 1 1/2 inch oak stock? (These will be for the cross pieces that go under the drawer front) The Drawer slides will be screwed into place. One biscuits & dowels are glued in place, I will clamp the sections together until the carpenters glue dries. I jut purchased a Kreg Pocket hole jig. Would this be a better joint to use ?Thanks for the help.

Joe

PS. I have a doweling jig and a biscuit jointer.

Last edited by bigjoedo; 11-25-2007 at 07:41 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 11-25-2007, 08:59 PM

View Harddog Wood's Photo Album My Photos
I love the biscuit joiner. I also love pocket jig. I prefer to use the biscuit if I need to hide the joint. You could use either one, of course the pocket holes will show underneath. Your choice. If you might have to take apart at a later date, the pocket holes would be my choice. harddog
post #3 of 8 Old 11-26-2007, 02:09 AM
PK.

View PK.'s Photo Album My Photos
If I read you correctly you want to solidly mount your back and side panels of plywood to the legs which are solid wood.

If that's what you're doing, it's sort of a no-no, but people do it. Biscuits or pocket screws would be easiest. You might find that it's easier to make a plywood box and then overlay the corners with the oak wood. This takes all the headaches out of the equation but still looks good.