Dovetails on a 45º angle? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 03-28-2013, 06:08 PM Thread Starter
Absolute Novice

View MN Wild Fan's Photo Album My Photos
Dovetails on a 45º angle?

Ok,

I'm relatively new to woodworking, and I've looked for a reference to what I'm attempting do do all over, but I can't find anything close to what I'm talking about.

I want to make a shelf where the bottom is joined to the back with support braces mitered at 45º using through dovetails. Is this possible? Or is the reason I can't find anything like it because it's a bad idea, and wont hold?

I keep finding mitered "half blind, or full blind" dovetails, but nothing like I'm looking to do. I'm assuming that the dovetails on the mitered support beam would have to be cut by hand, but the "section they fit into" on the bottom and back of the shelf would be normal.

Anyone have any pictures of this in action?

Does anyone even understand what I'm attempting to describe? I'm not sure I did a very good job.

Thanks-
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 03-28-2013, 06:31 PM

View trc65's Photo Album My Photos
If I'm understanding you correctly, your support braces will have dovetails to connect to the back and bottom of shelf. I don't see any reason why you can't do that. Measure the length of the support board you need (including the thickness of the back/bottom), cut the angle on both ends of the board, mark your baseline(s) to correspond to the thickness of the shelf and back, lay out dovetails and cut away. It shouldn't be difficult except the board will be at a 45 degree angle in the vise while you are cutting the tails.

"Good Behavior is the last refuge of mediocrity" -- Henry S. Haskins
post #3 of 6 Old 03-29-2013, 08:44 AM

View Hammer1's Photo Album My Photos
Not sure if is what you mean. This was a ladder rack for my truck, so it's larger than what you would use on a cabinet. The dovetails are half lapped.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links