Dovetail Tools - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 02-12-2012, 12:38 AM Thread Starter

View brose1313's Photo Album My Photos
Dovetail Tools

Hello everyone, I am trying to start learning how to hand cut dovetails. At this point I am really just reaching out for advice on what tools are necessary for the job as well as models that I could look into. Since I am just a beginner I don't want to buy extremely expensive tools, but I do want to buy tools that will to the job well.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 02-12-2012, 08:05 AM
ACP

View ACP's Photo Album My Photos
There's thoughts on this, but I have a good sharp pencil, marking gauge, some chisels (1/8" 1/4" 3/8") depending on your dovetail size, a rip tooth saw and a bevel gauge. That's the basics. Oh, and a clamp or two. Other's use a coping or fret saw, rabbet plane, marking knife, etc. I'm looking into making some dovetail markers cause my sliding Tbevel sucks.
post #3 of 14 Old 02-12-2012, 07:07 PM

View Cliff's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by brose1313 View Post
I am trying to start learning how to hand cut dovetails.
When I was a 20 something child working in a Boston Hand made custom furniture factory I was working under this guy who between his brother and himself weighed a quarter ton and together they'd go into bars and start fights. Both were MMA fighters before there was any MMA. They were bruisers who studied various forms from golden gloves to Mui tai, taekwondo etc.

Anyway my boss "Mike" showed me how to cut hand cut dovetails.

He grabbed a piece of wood, & marked it with a pencil. Threw it across his - - - - knee. Cut the tails out with a saw - no particular saw just the one nearest him.
Then grabbed another piece of wood and placed it on the bench and used a Razor knife to mark the pins.
Then he tossed that across his - - - - - knee and sawed the pins out.
Then he held them up together and looked at 'em,