Dovetail Jigs - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 06-12-2012, 11:32 AM Thread Starter

View Orange_Crush's Photo Album My Photos
Dovetail Jigs

Hello All!

I'm a new member here and just started woodworking about...oh...a week ago! Basically, I went to the local big box store and dropped my teeth when they told me what the prices for their mid-level cabinetry were so I decided to do some web research and try to build my own. I have some carpentry knowledge and own a Table and Miter saw as well as assorted sanders and the like.

Anyway, I have built the boxes and attached the face frames to them using pocket screws and glue. I have been successful at building nice, straight boxes (I'm ridiculously proud of myself).

Anyway, the time has come to get to work on doors and drawers. I have the doors covered (I hope) but the drawers are another story. Essentially, I want to have nice dovetailed drawers and am considering the purchase of a Porter Cable 4216 dovetail jig.

Before taking the plunge, however, I decided to call my uncle who is an avid woodworker and ask him his opinion. It turns out, he has a Porter cable Omnijig but, to quote him "The ******* thing is so ******* difficult to set up you're better off cutting the ************* dovetails your ******* self!"

He told me I could take the jig and use it as long as I wanted as long as I sold it on ebay when I was done and gave him the money.

So here is the question...should I use the omnijig? he has me pretty intimidated! Should I go ahead and drop the 200 bucks or so for the 4216?

What is your advice?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 06-12-2012, 10:09 PM

View mveach's Photo Album My Photos
I have never used the omnijig but it gets good reviews. I have the small basic jig 4210 I think. It takes a little time to get set up. Once you do it works fine. I expect the omnijig is the same.

LIB MR DUCKS
post #3 of 6 Old 06-12-2012, 10:57 PM
John

View jschaben's Photo Album My Photos