Door warping - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 03-27-2012, 08:53 PM Thread Starter

View newman11's Photo Album My Photos
Door warping

I am in the middle of a build. It is a changing table and it can be found in the 'project showcase" under "changing table build". Anyway: I just joined some ash boards to make up my cabinet door for the front of the changing table. There is a total of 3 - 7" x 14" and a last board being about 3" x 14" all stacked to make a total door size of 24" x 14". Anyway, I joined the boards with #20 biscuits with Titebond III. After the glue set up - about 30 hours. I unclamped and started sanding down the door. I then routed the edges to ready it for stain. Today I went out into the shed and noticed the door had warped significantly.

As I am new to woodworking - it was about 20F overnight and 40F today and I was thinking it may be temperature related? The shed is not condtioned. Is the warping entirely due to the cold?

What can I do to help it out? Or am I screwed? Can the door be saved.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 03-27-2012, 09:12 PM Thread Starter

And just for hoots:

I used plenty of clamps during glue-up with cauls and the door was flat and straight for at least 24 hours after sanding down.
post #3 of 9 Old 03-27-2012, 09:40 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
screwed? probably...

You are really fighting the temperature conditions. The glue wants to be over 70 degrees for best adhesion. The wood may not have been totally dry? You don't need biscuits for a glue line joint if your edges are square and straight...which they should be in the first place. Ash is not always predictable if the grain is flat sawn as it will cup.
Just my opinion, and maybe someone else can save it for you, but I would saw it down the glue lines, bring in inside for a day or so and then reglue it. bill