Corner blocks and grain direction - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 03-26-2018, 09:37 AM Thread Starter

View daphnis's Photo Album My Photos
Corner blocks and grain direction

Hi, all. I am a woodworking novice but looking to learn, experiment, and expand my knowledge so reaching out to you experts for some knowledge and guidance. I'm sure this is a simple matter, but, again, I lack even simple knowledge that I would like to gain. I may be using incorrect terminology during this post, so please correct and educate me if so.

I inherited a house with garage having some two-door cabinets inside, mounted to block wall, that have fallen apart. The reason seems to be the way the cabinets are constructed (not high quality) and the presence of corner moulding that was simply glued in. The cabinets are mounted by a single solid piece of what appears to be oak at the top and rear of the cabinets as shown in the below picture.