Buttjoint lip - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Terry Q
  • 1 Post By FrankC

post #1 of 9 Old 08-28-2018, 08:06 AM Thread Starter

View TheKing's Photo Album My Photos
Buttjoint lip

Hello everybody,

I'm completely new to woodworking (in my adult life at least) and joinery. I have access to a makerspace here in Copenhagen, Denmark, with limited number of tools - more powertools than handtools though.

I'm in the process of making a baby fence for our staircase. I've made buttjoins and am almost done with the initial stuff and have something like this:

The issue i have is that i have a small lip (around 1mm) at the top and bottom of the vertical sides as well as a few places where the vertical parts in the middle does not align perfectly with the top and bottom bars (<1mm).

So to the question:

Can i use a hand powerplaner (Bosch PHO 1500 i think) to take small misalignments and the lips off or is this not the right tool for that? I have ben watching videos of Matt Estlea demonstrating handmade joints and he often planes the joint after it's been done, but this is of course a handplane.

If i can use the powerplaner i would go in and go half way from each side to avoid tearaway and thinnest cut.

If i cant use a hand powerplaner for this then what should i use? Sander, maybe - there is a orbital handheld sander?

There are pencil marks and a few dents in scratches that would need finishing anyway before painting. And i will go around all edges with a a router with a roundover bit.

Hope you can help.

/Jacob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 08-28-2018, 10:26 AM

View Terry Q's Photo Album My Photos
I think most would sand the discrepancy flush, but using a block plane first would speed the process along.

The hand power planer may prove to be the most difficult tool to control for a small job like this.

In woodworking there is always more then one way to accomplish something.
J D Snow likes this.