Building a drawer without dovetails? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 20 Old 01-29-2012, 11:15 PM Thread Starter

View Paul W Gillespie's Photo Album My Photos
Building a drawer without dovetails?

Working on my rolling drill press cart. I want to make a drawer for the top space. I am new to woodworking and not ready to try dovetails. I am also working in 3/4 pine plywood leftovers for the drawers. Other than just making a butt joint box, what joint besides DT's would be OK for a drawer? Is a butt joint box OK?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 01-30-2012, 12:06 AM

View TylerJones's Photo Album My Photos
Check out the drawers Greene and Greene built. Easy and really elegant.
The Following User Says Thank You to TylerJones For This Useful Post:
Paul W Gillespie (01-30-2012)
post #3 of 20 Old 01-30-2012, 12:21 AM

View Upstate's Photo Album My Photos
Obviously a butt joint is fastest, and in reality, as long as you screw it it will last long enough. If you want to get fancier, you could do a box joint relatively easy with the table saw or a router.
The Following User Says Thank You to Upstate For This Useful Post:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 20 Old 01-30-2012, 12:55 AM
No Longer Here

View 27207's Photo Album My Photos
Rabbets work well for that situation. We used rabbets for our nightstands in high school shop, I've been using it for about 11 years now without any problems. It's not as strong as dovetail or a box joint, but it's a lot better then a butt.
The Following User Says Thank You to 27207 For This Useful Post:
post #5 of 20 Old 01-30-2012, 02:34 AM

View Heath's Photo Album My Photos
This is a drawer style I created myself that works wonderfully and is very strong