Breadboards/wood movement question... - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 02-13-2011, 08:59 PM Thread Starter

View alterd's Photo Album My Photos
Breadboards/wood movement question...

All,

I am a budding woodworker and am in the process of making a coffee table and was hoping to tap the considerable knowledge base here for some advice regarding the amount of movement I can expect in the tabletop. The top is approx 36" x 20" and is made of 27 planks of red oak (lowes) 1" x 2" that I have face glued to each other along the long dimension.(I.e. the grain runs the 36" length) The resulting slab is a satisfyingly solid 1.5" thick slab of oak..with a 'butcher block' look to the ends and a nice variation of grain pattern thru the top.

I am not entirely certain, however,that I like the exposed end grain butcher block look however and am considering putting breadboards to cover the ends. I know that all wood suffers some movement and I was wondering what your thoughts were on how much I should expect across it's 20" width. If the movement is negligible it would certainly be easier to mechanically fasten thru simple dowels and glue/etc the breadboards end caps without actually making them functional in the traditional sense.

Thanks in advance for your time,

-don

Sent from my iPad using Wood Forum
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 02-13-2011, 09:07 PM

View JMC'sLT30's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum. I beleive it's all about the EMC of it's final destination but Ill watch and learn with you.

"IF IT'S TOO TOUGH FOR THEM, IT'S JUST RIGHT FOR ME"
post #3 of 13 Old 02-13-2011, 09:15 PM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by alterd View Post
All,