Woodworking Talk banner

Box Joint Troublle

2K views 12 replies 11 participants last post by  CharleyL 
#1 ·
Hello
I have been a home woodworker for years, but I'm pretty set in my old ways. Recently I tried to create a box using box joints.
I read and watched all the videos and made a jig for my router table. It worked great.
One thing I don't understand and maybe someone can help.
The fingers on the joints don't line up.
I mean the first one down to the fourth finger will fit fine, then they or off where they don't line up anymore.
I am totally baffled by this. The jig hasn't moved, It got me. Hopefully I'm missing something simple
Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you in advance

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
@Terry Q is right. The router bit (or table saw blade), the key, and the gap must all be exactly the same width.

One thing that I do not understand is the fingers and cuts do not appear to be the same width across the boards. The cuts seem wider on the left side than the right side. (... or the fingers seem wider on the right side than the left side.) Why? You could argue that it is caused by thermal expansion of the router bit, but it seems like way too much for that. I hope it is a photography artifact.

#5 ·
Vincent,
I believe the root of your problem is compounding error, your key/spacing is off a small, very small amount. The first few fingers aren't noticeable, but each finger's error is added along with the sum of the previous finger errors. Move the key a small, very small distance closer to the dado blade.

Reactions: Tony B
#7 · (Edited)
in addition to the comments above. i have found that you have to apply consistent "English" on the board as it is held against the pin, throughout the entire process. say left or right, to take up the gap between the pin and the last slot that was cut.

(one hundredth of an inch) .01" off times 20 = 2/10" (over 1/8")

#9 ·
The cuts look very strange to me. I am still confused about: