Best way to reinforce long miter joints - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 19 Old 08-30-2012, 10:55 PM Thread Starter

View ottter's Photo Album My Photos
Best way to reinforce long miter joints

Hi, i am still a bit of a novice and am building a desk. The design of the desk I am building will look best if I miter all for sides of the top to the skirts of the desk. The width and length are 28"x58", thus, my miter can be as much as 58" long and will miter with another piece of wood in the same direction.( Not end grain to end grain) on one side and will be end grain to end grain grain on the shorter side. What is the best way to reinforce the top of this desk to prevent the miter joints from separating. I can use brackets on the under side. I also am not sure I want to use splines as I think they would need to be close together and that could be too much detail in the design. Any thoughts are welcome
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 08-31-2012, 06:58 AM

View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
I cannot picture what it is you are doing.

Can you post a drawing/sketch?

George
post #3 of 19 Old 08-31-2012, 07:25 AM

View HandyNative's Photo Album My Photos
Splines or biscuits would be my first choice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 19 Old 08-31-2012, 08:51 AM

View Dave Paine's Photo Album My Photos
+1 with George. I cannot imagine what this looks like, particularly not end grain to end grain on the one side but end grain to end grain on the other.

It will help for you to provide some sketch of what you are planning.

It is common to reinforce mitres with splines or biscuits as stated in earlier reply.

I am not understanding why splines would be too close together, another reason we need a sketch.

You could reinforce with dowels, but this can be tricky to get the holes aligned.
post #5 of 19 Old 08-31-2012, 05:44 PM Thread Starter

drawing attached