Best way to cut this joint? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 08-30-2015, 11:04 PM Thread Starter

View Stevebo's Photo Album My Photos
Best way to cut this joint?

Not sure of this is the right place or not, but I'm trying to work out the best way to cut this joint using hand tools. Its for joining a side table leg to a the table top -so fairly low demand. I plan to glue the inserted bits and the faces in contact between the two sockets. Does this joint have a name?

I'm new at this so the photo is my first attempt at a wood joint, so it's pretty rough. I used chisels and hand drills, but with no specific plan or technique, I figure there must be an efficient and clean way to make this cut, but don't know what I should search for for video advice.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 08-31-2015, 12:46 AM
Senior Sawdust Producer

View Leo G's Photo Album My Photos
Depends on the tools you have. For the square stretcher/leg a dado or tablesaw would make the center cut. Or if you only have hand tools a hand saw to cut the two outside lines and then the saw to cut multiple cuts to the depth, then break out the pcs and clean up with a chisel.

For the double slot in the board a drill to cut out the majority and then clean up the corners with a chisel or jigsaw.

If you have a square hole mortise chisel you could use that.

Measure Twice Cut Once -- It's a lot easier to cut more off then it is to cut MORON.
Finishing is 3 parts chemistry and 1 part VooDoo http://lrgwood.com
post #3 of 11 Old 08-31-2015, 07:15 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos