Beginning questions. What tools are essential to learn? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 2 Post By justdraftn
  • 1 Post By Johnnie_dr

post #1 of 15 Old 03-19-2019, 11:53 PM Thread Starter

View TheLegman's Photo Album My Photos
Beginning questions. What tools are essential to learn?

Hello all. This is my first post here, and I have a few questions. I have very little experience in woodworking aside from a bit of shop class in middle school. However, I’ve recently become quite fascinated with Japanese methods of construction where they don’t use any nails or glue, and I very much would like to learn how to do things that way.
I’m at the point right now where I’m trying to figure out what it’s going to cost me to get started learning as far as tools go. My intention would be to start out doing smaller things like boxes, then move something bigger like furniture or cabinets, and then eventually when I have all that down do something larger like a shed. I don’t really wanna use power tools at all, I prefer to do things by hand. So, From research I’ve done I know roughly what tools I’ll need (chisel, plane, dovetail saw, etc.) but having looked around I notice that there are several different kinds and sizes of saws, chisels and planes, and I’m not sure which ones (if not all of them) I need to get going. I also think there are probably some tools I may need that I’m not aware or thinking of, so I want to make sure I have all my bases covered. Can anyone give me a basic list of what I’d need to get started?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 03-20-2019, 01:49 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Here's a good source ...

You will find all you need here:
https://www.highlandwoodworking.com/...and-tools.aspx

and here:
https://www.japanwoodworker.com/categories/planes

https://www.fine-tools.com/dai-making.html